My St. Joseph’s Vacation pt 5

Real food. My first morning, I unexpectedly got breakfast. Who am I kidding? I smelled it for a couple of hours before a tray finally came into my room. But, doctors orders, I had to have a blood sugar test FIRST, and the technicians were running a little late. But finally, my blood was tested, my blood pressure taken, and my meal was set down in front of me. Scrambled eggs, a large English muffin and a couple of halves of canned peach. It wasn’t a husky-man amount, but it wasn’t tiny either. I know a couple of people who probably not been able to finish it (I’m looking at YOU, Karen!).

Oddly enough, it was satisfying to me. I did not feel hungry after I had finished. I believe that the usual urges for food were being supplanted by the constant presence of my angelic medics, their warm hands touching me. Better than food, more satisfying, and NO calories!

The food continued to be delightful and filling throughout my stay. It reminded me of school, where last period before lunch, the smell of the food would permeate the building. One never had to wonder if it was almost time to eat! Once it was a pork chop with some kind of mild salsa, another was a slice of roast beef with penne pasta (?), and one time, when I was feeling daring, Baked Cod! I normally don’t eat any fish but deep fried, but the cod was delicious! I must admit, the quality of the food that I received at St. Joe’s certainly added to the feeling that I was on some kind of Spa Vacation!

So much more went on. After it turned out that I was staying for a second night, Shelly spread the word that I was in the hospital, and the phone number where I could be reached. The first to call was Shelly’s Sister, Shari. She didn’t slip that Shelly and I were not related, so I talked to her for a while.

I sure hope that I don’t forget who all called me, because (big excuse) I was on a LOT of drugs.

Skip called, and when talking to Skip it is difficult, if not impossible not to get loud and boisterous. I sure hope I didn’t let loose any family secrets! Skip called me again the next night during one of his sets at his gig. Lots of background noise. I even heard a guy thanking Skip for the song he had just finished. I hope it was a large tip, bro!

A couple of genuine blasts from the past, two of my nieces called a couple of times, Ruth and Anita. They have a strong presence on my Facebook Page, with texting and the like, but no actual face to face conversing. Those were voices that I had not heard in probably over 30 years. That was great therapy, let me tell you. I had good long conversations, much quieter than the Skip hyperconversation! 😉

Cheryl called. I haven’t seen her in a while, and we got caught up on her end of the world. Thank goodness Shelly had posted regular reports on my progress, so I didn’t have to do much stumbling through my side of current life. It would usually go, “Shelly posted…” and I would wittily reply “That sounds about right!” Heh. For all I know she could have said anything, and I would have said “That sounds about right!” 

“She posted that you had a Voodoo witch doctor dancing around your bed?”

“That sounds about right!” 

“And the Nurses are considering a pagan ritual?

“That sounds about right!” 

What I’m building to, I I’m pretty sure that someone called that I didn’t really expect, and I’ve forgotten who it was. I am truly sorry if I have forgotten who you were. But like I said, I was on massive amounts of drugs. Many of the conversations would take place while I was getting the numerous “indignities” done to my person, and those events would come and go while I talked. There WAS one of the angels, with black, curly hair that I would have liked to talk with, but we can’t have it all! 

I LOVED all the phone conversations!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Shari  On November 27, 2010 at 10:30 am

    Aw, so you ONLY talked to me because I didn’t give your secret away!? 😦

    • macbuddha01  On November 27, 2010 at 12:53 pm

      No, my encompassing excuse for any and all aberrant behavior during my vacation was and continues to be, Heavy Drugs. You’ll see in my next chapter when I talk about some of my fun hallucinations. Besides, I believe that you and your sister had a good conversation as well!

Leave a comment